Jeremiah 51:34 “Nebuchadrezzar the king of Babylon hath devoured me, he hath crushed me, he hath made me an empty vessel, he hath swallowed me up like a dragon, he hath filled his belly with my delicates, he hath cast me out.” In the defenders study bible notes it says, “like a dragon. These charges against Nebuchadrezzar are obviously expressed in figurative terms, and one is especially intriguing-‘swallowed me up like a dragon.’ For this expression to be meaningful, the ‘dragon’ (Hebrew tannin) would have to be capable of swallowing a man whole. This requirement adds to the many other evidences that the Biblical ‘dragons’ were actually great dinosaurs, or dinosaur-like sea monsters.”

Jeremiah 51:37 “And Babylon shall become heaps, a dwelling place for dragons, an astonishment, and an hissing, without an inhabitant.”

Micah 1:8 “Therefore I will wail and howl, I will go stripped and naked: I will make a wailing like the dragons, and mourning as the owls.”

Malachi 1:3 “And I hated Esau, and laid his mountains and his heritage waste for the dragons of the wilderness.” In the defenders study bible notes it says, “These ‘dragons’ (Hebrew tannin) are mentioned fairly frequently in Scripture-first in Genesis 1:21, where the word is translated ‘whales.’ It is best understood as a generic term for what we now call ‘dinosaurs,’ either great marine reptiles or land dinosaurs, depending on context.”

